In stock

Men's SmartStraw Packable Fedora Hat UPF 50+

Men's SmartStraw Packable Fedora Hat UPF 50+ is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 54.
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_02547, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coolibar
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 60.23ms
  • UPF 50+
  • Broad 3" brim for excellent face protection
  • Chin cord with adjustable toggle for secure fit
  • Grosgrain trim crown band
  • Packable roll up design
  • Made of Coolibar SmartStraw™ 100% polypropylene
  • Circumference:S/M - 22 3/8”; L/XL - 23 1/2"; XXL - 24 3/8”
  • Spot clean
  • Imported


Note: Due to the nature of the straw, there may be slight color variations from what is shown.

A stylish hat with 3" of brimming coverage, our Packable Fedora offers the best in travel friendly features: roll up design for easy packing, chin cord with toggle for security, grosgrain trim with buckle for on-trend wear. Unlike traditional straw, Coolibar SmartStraw™ is durable, breathable, lightweight, stain resistant and always UPF 50+.

More Information
Color Code No
Color N/A
Fit No
Below Price Promo Override (Block ID) No
Size Code No
Category Callout No
Quantity Price Break Message No
Recommendation Content

Coolibar is the first clothing company to earn the Skin Cancer Foundation's Seal of Recommendation.


HEAD (inches) 21 1/8 - 23 1/4 23 1/4 - 24 24 3/8 - 25 1/8 22 - 24 3/4
HEAD (cm) 54 - 59 56 - 61 62 - 64 56 - 63
HAT SIZE 6 3/4 - 7 3/8 7 3/8 - 7 5/8 7 3/4 - 8 7 - 7 7/8
Due to the range of fabrics and styles, each hat fits slightly different. See individual hat sizing ranges on their product pages. Our One Size hats are designed to fit most.

HOW TO DETERMINE YOUR HAT SIZE: Measure around your head, from the center of your forehead, keeping tape straight and parallel to the floor. Measure around fullest part.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy & Comfortable I bought this because of UVA rating and it practicality with the string but I find if I just want to look classy and be protected I put the cord on top and it is so classy!
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from runs SMALL nice looking hat but I have to send it back. I have a 22" head which should be right in the middle size-wise according to the chart, but it's so tight I can barely get it on and then it pops up. There's no way you could even fit your head in if you are at the large end of the size range =(
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good had but a little clunky This hat really does fold well but it doesn't sit on the head like a real straw hat. That makes the look a little dopey. The hat however does provide very good protection. The cord again is dopey but is easily tucked up top and comes in handy when by the sea.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hat! I bought this hat for a couple of upcoming vacations. After 4 days in the heat (and a little rain) at Disneyland Resort, I can honestly say this is one terrific hat. Protected my face and neck, while keeping me cool and dry. And it is totally packable - - threw it in my suitcase and when I pulled it out it sprung right back into shape. Looking forward to wearing it on my upcoming European adventure.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doesn't breath Received my hat a couple of weeks ago and found that it is what as advertise. Many compliments on style, I felt a bit pimpish! My only issue is it doesn't breath very well! Tends to be hot! I would recommend this hat as I wear it ever day!
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Hat I bought this hat about 3 weeks ago. I have played golf while wearing 3 times now in very hot temperatures. It's very light weight and fits comfortably and looks good. My only negative comment is about cleaning. This is not a hat that you can completely wash. The directions indicate that you can spot clean. However, after playing several rounds of golf this will have sweat stains visible from the outside. Otherwise, it's terrific and affords the UV protection I wanted.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great hat, but I have a huge head! My hat arrived in wonderful shape. I am headed to Turkey and the Greek Isles in summer and suffer a very hot head. The cloth liner was a no-no so I cut it out first thing. I am 7 7/8 head size, so the XXL just made it. The elastic inner band was a bit constrictive, but I had been shown by a local hat vendor how to slit it, so I did. It's now a perfect fit and I look forward to wearing it on my trip. The Fedora style is very nice. I have had one bout with melanoma in my life so SPF protection is very important to me. The size issue was to be expected: I have a huge head. I'm glad that I could find any hat that fits; and this one does very well after the alterations.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only for certain people Just got it, wore it once so can't send back. It is much heavier and hotter than expected. I think this hat is for someone who is bald and doesn't want the slightest sliver of sunlight to reach their scalp. If you have a full head of hair, this becomes an oven. Someone here remarked that it is shallower than it used to be. Indeed, my hair is touching the inside of the top. This has a dense, thick, tightly woven material. I'll use it more in the winter. I just want to keep the sun off my face and neck.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good lookin' hat!! I am very happy with these hats from Coolibar. This is the second one for me. Nice style, comfortable fit on my head, and knowing it is protecting my skin is a great feeling. I just wish the chin strap were a tad longer.
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made, good looking hat I bought this mens' hat as it was one of the few Fedora styles with a larger brim that came in sizes. Most women's hats are "one size fits all" and they are too large for me. I ordered the S/M which, unfortunately, is still a little too big. Good thing it has a string or it would have blown away on the windy beaches of Cancun. It's a very good looking hat, and I like the inside headband which helps keep it on. I was on the fence about keeping it before my trip to Mexico, but it also fits and looks good on my husband.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the under strap. Fit is just slightly larger. Bought this couple weeks ago. Have worn it. Like it but it does not have the same fit as last year's model. Might suggest you make these somewhat waterproof as they can get wet like I did with last year's model-only issue when I got wet the grommet air holes rusted. Just a suggestion. Thanks. John I.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Classic Hat fits perfect and I don't have a head that is easy to fit. I am between the small and Medium sizes. I was afraid I would have to put some tape inside the head band. I like the style. The large brim is great as well. I need that protection for my face and nose. The Fedora look has a very distinguished appearance. Very cool in the sun.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice hat! I bought this for our summer trips, but had to try it now. Just love it!
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, too for Ladies Very lightweight, comfortable for travel; good looking and stylish, goes with many outfits. A negative feature: you have to tighten the strap up to the chin in order to prevent the hat from blowing away.
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Straw packable hat Comfortable & attractive—I get compliments every time I wear it. It makes me look for more opportunities to go out in the sun!
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Shallow I am a female and I have a pretty big head, but based on the reviews thought this would be the best choice. However, the hat is extremely shallow and sat really high on my head. I could force it down to where it felt normal but then my head was pushing up the top of the hat. Had to send it back. It was however, great quality and really good looking in person.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and protection Purchased this hat for trip to islamorada. Hat was a perfect fit and brim was large enough to protect facial area.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fit & Return Policy Crown area of hat is too shallow and inaccurately sized.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and durable hat, drawstring helps This is my third of these hats, white and brown with a new white replacement. They are very durable, can be washed lightly, the drawstring really helps on windy days. The new one has a liner and is slightly larger than my earlier one, the liner makes it little warmer. I am not sure why it is 1/4 to 1/2 size larger but still OK.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SmartStrawPackable Fedora Hat About four years ago I bought one. I still have it and have worn it every summer. I ordered two more, but the new design is different, flimsy and floppy brim and I returned them months ago. The old design was much better. The picture reveals the old design and not the new design. I wish they would go back to the old design. The smart straw is outstanding. Please go back to the old design and email me so I can buy a few. I rate the old design a ten where the new design a five.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every nickle! I purchased this hat prior to a trip to Abu Dhabi. It turned out to be the most valuable clothing item I took. It protected my head from constant sun while in the desert or on the water. Great item.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Nice hat and the large was not too big for me. I am female with head size as specified for the large size. Much more stylish than other sunhats that fit me, and I love that it flexible for packing.
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hat! Packs well, keeps it's shape even after being soaked in salt water and rinsed with fresh water
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hat My husband loves this hat. He has an XXL head size and this fits perfectly. The chin string is perfect for driving the convertible!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Made Smaller This is the second time I have ordered one of these hats. The first one ended up being my favorite golfing hat. It wore out so I just ordered and received a new one. Unfortunately they have changed the design and the hat now does not fit comfortably on my head. They have radically lowered the "depth" of the hat. The top of my head now hits the top of the hat! The picture of the hat on the web is the old model. I cannot recommend anyone buying this hat any longer. Go back to your original design Coolibar!!
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Coolest Great style, comfort and protection. Can't ask for more.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps you cool with excellent protection I bought this hat for the UPF 50 rating and am happy with that aspect. Opportunities for improvement revolve around styling aspects, for example I do not like the chin strap, find it annoying and not needed, I also wish the hat held a shape better, kind of floppy and could be styled more like a fedora (even though description says it is!). BUT does offer good sun protection just not as good styling as some of my other felt/wool UPF hats.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Sun Hat I bought this hat about a month ago. It is exactly what I expected. I bought it to better keep the sun off of my face. It does it very well. I'm going to recommend it to my dermatologist. The only problem I had was they advertised it as packable. It did not come with instructions on how to pack it.
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small Crown is very short unlike picture which seems tall. Got l/xl and still tight. Comfortable sweat band. Good sun coverage and wide brim. Well made. 
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartStraw Hat We just received it and are taking it on a trip.  Love it because it is packable.  Had a problem with the size.  My husband measures 7 3/8 but a large was too big and the medium proved to be the best size.
Date published: 2014-05-25
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_02547, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coolibar
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.56ms