Up to 20% off Select Sunscreen SALE! No Code Needed | *Potential Shipping Delays Due to COVID-19* please click here for details

SKU
02354

Women's Etta Shapeable Sun Catcher Hat UPF 50+

$49.00
Women's Etta Shapeable Sun Catcher Hat UPF 50+ is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 119.
  • y_2020, m_6, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_110
  • loc_en_US, sid_02354, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coolibar
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 57.06ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
In stock
Add to Wish List
  • UPF 50+
  • Shapeable brim
  • External sizing with elastic string and toggle at center back
  • Beautiful pattern detail inside brim
  • Chin cord with locking toggle
  • Lite™ fabric: Ultra-soft with a cotton like feel, lightweight, breathable, quick dry performance
  • Approx. Circumference: 22 ½"
  • Brim: 4 1/4" Front 3 3/4" Sides 4 1/8" Back
  • Hand wash, line dry
  • Imported

Perfect for blocking UV rays while gardening, hiking or boating, our Etta Shapeable Sun Catcher Hat features a chin cord and a shapeable brim. Plus, it packs easy!

Fabric Details
Lite™ FabricLite™ Fabric
Ultra-soft with a cotton like feel, lightweight, breathable, quick dry performance
Due to the range of fabrics and styles, each hat fits slightly different. See individual hat circumferences in the Highlights section of the product page. Our One Size hats are designed to fit most.

HOW TO DETERMINE YOUR HAT SIZE: Measure around your head, from the center of your forehead, keeping tape straight and parallel to the floor. Measure around fullest part.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 year later the seam is opening I used this on a two week trip and a year later the seam is becoming un-stitched. Neither the company or Amazon want to back it up. Expensive hats but not meant for a lifetime.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awkward... I have bought several hats & numerous other items from Coolibar over the years & have been mostly satisfied. Unfortunately, this one is an epic fail. The brim is stiff & awkward, not shapeable at all. The crown is so deep it reaches almost to my eyebrows & the sides where the hooks attach the chin strap stick out in an awkward fashion. It's like wearing a tent. It will be the first item I have ever returned to Coolibar. I am giving it 2 stars simply because the sun protection factor alone warrants some merit.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Pleased at All... I too purchased this hat to replace the one I have that is similar to this one and it doesn't even compare. Brim not at all flexible. So stiff it kept rubbing the back of my neck no matter how I tried to bend it. Wind would catch it and brim would not give thus choking me. Feel like I'm sitting under an ole fashion "tin tub" and the design underneath is (to me) extremely tacky and distracting. I plan to return it.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing compared with previous version I loved this hat. It was my go-to hat for some years until I recently lost it while traveling. I decided to try the new model but am quite disappointed. I appreciate the fact that the top was made a little more spacious rather than fitting quite so snugly on the top of my head. Other changes I don't like: 1. It's still called "Shapeable" but isn't, and the title is now a misnomer and misleading. I'm sure the buyer/designer meant well by making the brim stiff, since it had previously flopped in a strong breeze. However, the hat's flexibility (shapeability) was what I loved, and I was willing to put up with the soft brim in order to be able to bend the wire inside its rim and change its shape. The brim is now stiff, and the bendable wire rim around the outside that could be bent to shield my face from the side -- one of the hat's handiest features, I thought -- is now gone. Instead, the ring must be plastic, because it won't change form. 2. Additionally, for some very odd reason, the underside of the brim now has a design on it that is very distracting because it's always in one's peripheral vision. That was not a good idea, IMO. Because of these new features, I'm returning the hat. The features that made it so handy for me before are now gone.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sun Catcher I bought this hat to use while mowing my grass. It definitely keeps the sun off my face. It has a stiff brim so when the wind blows it is not flipping up. It also has an adjustable tie around the head piece to cinch if needed. It is not the ball hat I have always worn so I do have to get use to it. It's a different look for me but it beats smearing on white sunscreen all over my face.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice wide hat I bought this so in the summner i can go in the sun and not burn my face or neck...i like the fact that i can decorate it a little bit make it my own..
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed in changes Got this hat three years ago and loved it! A nice, light shade hat -- very durable. Wore it near daily including driving until I lost it. Got another as replacement and am very disappointed in the changes. Hat is heavier and brim is stiffer. Crown is deeper so even with the shapeable brim it may not work for driving. The print pattern that was added to the inside is an ugly clash and the hat arrived with a toxic, fumy smell. I'm going to run it through the washing machine to see if some of these issues can be resolved. Also, hat is tight so will need stretched to fit my 21" head. (Will not fit 23" as advertised.) I'll wear it but it's not going to be the all-purpose hat that I need.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect hat! I bought this hat a month ago in the light colors. It is made of great lightweight material, and you can fold it easily. I got the light color and it goes with everything. I call it my safari hat, but more importantly, it is my go to sun block hat!
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you"ll like it I think Good coverage from sun due to wide brim and also the ability to pull the brim down or up in different areas to keep the sun off that part of your face/neck. Top of hat is lightweight fabric so breathable. Windy days less of a problem due to the chin strap, as well as the brim being stiff enough to not blow upward (but not overly stiff). Also like that the hat is adjustable in circumference using the draw cord. Would like to see it offered in a stone/taupe color with grey lining, a light grey, and also a navy blue w/ a grey lining.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with pattern inside brim I have always loved the look of this hat in white and dark gray but was shocked when I got mine and it had a patterned underside to it. I really do not like this and when you click on the photo of the white and gray there is no sense that it is patterned on the underside of the brim.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hat—Carbon/Black I ordered it and it came with a pattern inside the front part—I ordered solid black on inside. I called and was told they all come with a pattern. That was not true. did end up keeping it and liking the pattern—I have gotten a lot of compliments on it and also on the pattern. Fits perfectly.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from One size??? How can it fit all? I've had this hat for a year or two. I like the wide brim and the softness, though the wind flaps the brim around a bit. My main complaint is that the crown is small, and I don't even have a large head. My face/head is more long and narrow, and I don't see how it can work in one size for everyone when it doesn't come down on my head as far as my other hats do. If it sat farther down, it would give me better sun protection (I wouldn't have to shift it from side to side to block morning and afternoon rays), and I'd like it better. I also wish it had a sweatband, because then I could use it for gardening here in the South.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked in high winds I have good sun blocking hats, but too floppy for high winds--ie over 15mph. This one worked great and I like the added assurance of the string in case it would still want to fly off the hill or into the Gulf.... Easy to fold over and put in my backpack when we got to shady place. Didn't like having the hat hang down my back while the cord held it on my neck--choking feeling.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shades face AND neck! I am so happy with this hat. It fits well, stays on my head, and the brim is large enough to protect both my face and my neck. On long boat rides, this hat is just the thing. I bought a second one in another color bc I liked it so much.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too big to fitin bag I bought this for a trip to Paris but didn’t bring it on the trip because it was too big to fit, folded, in a gallon-size ziploc bag. the firmness of the brim is a selling point of the hat, but if you’re going to want to be able to put the hat in s bag or backpack, this is not the hat to buy.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Products and Service I Really like all of my Coolibar shirts and hats. Especially the hats because they are my only protection from the sun on my face, except my sunscreen. The shirts fit nicely and I do not have to SPF screen all over my body now !! However, I do wish this hat was not quite so stiff and it turned down floppy a little more. The draw was very stiff on one hat. I do really like the new graphics coming on the shirts now. I live in FL and have skin cancer so I am very grateful for Coolibar products. Thanks
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Coverage! I've bought three of these hats in different colors because the coverage is excellent, they let my head breathe, and they stay on in strong winds.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I have a particular morning walk where the sun is on the horizon on one side of me and I just couldn't get enough coverage with a bucket hat. Having something wide-brimmed where I could angle one side down has been perfect. It's extremely comfortable and the fabric on top is very breathable. Yeah, wide brims can be hard to look suave in, but sun damage is more so! Hope they will offer more colors at some point...
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My 5th bucket hat purchase I have 4 woman's bucket hats purchased over the years, all still wearable although the most recent has issues. When I tried on this Shapeable Sun Catcher Hat, the bucket hat replacement, I found it unlike a true bucket hat. The stiff wide brim precludes using it while driving. The underside had a design that felt sticky to the touch. At 5' tall I looked ridiculous with the large stiff brim. I wear hats for a medical reason. This hat does not fit my needs. Please return to a true bucket hat as offered to men and children. Nice colors would be a plus.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Coverage, but May Have to Be Held Onto i I've been wearing this hat for over a month, and have been very happy with the wide coverage. I like having the cord to keep it in place, although I must say that when I was in very windy locations in Portland, ME and Boston, I had to hold onto the sides so that it would stay on my head. (Of course, the cord kept it around my neck, but the hat came down a couple of times.)
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from shapeable sun catcher hat This last purchase was spare hats for myself and a gift for my mother who liked the one I had purchases 6 to 8 months ago. We both like the fact the hat has a large brim and you can shape it against the sun.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large brim I bought two of these wonderful hats recently. They have big brims which offer a lot of coverage. I like the beige; (I had white in the past). The drawstring under the chin is very functional when it is windy.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safari hat Very well made,fits well looks.nice. Good purchase
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Servicable Very large rim which should protect my face the way it needs to be. Folds nicely for travel. I think this will be a good hat especially for things like kayaking and other sports where the sun is always on your face.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hat is great, straps are shabby & disintegrating When the hat arrived I was impressed at how cute-yet-functional it is for this style of hat (which, let's face it, can be pretty dorky). The brim is stiff enough to not flop in my face, but flexible enough to pack easily. The head (non-brim part?) is amazing - it is incredibly light and thus very cooling to have on one's head. It is also pretty sheer, so as another reviewer questioned, I would love confirmation that part also provides UPF 50 protection (since it is my part-area on my scalp that requires the most sun protection). So I loved the hat when I took it out of the package. Unfortunately I just wore it for the first time this weekend and the straps started falling apart after the first adjustment of the cords. Within just a few hours of wearing the hat, they were badly frayed, and there are at least 12 little threads unraveling on each strap, and they just continued to fray with wear. The hat itself looks incredibly well made, but the straps look so terrible after just one day of wearing it they look like they were actually meant to go with a different hat and I just attached them to this one myself. It's disappointing and surprising, as I expect higher quality from Coolibar.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and lightweight Pretty cute. Bought it for me and it's unisex enough for my husband to wear. Lightweight fabric and nice to be able to fold down the sides based on where the sun is coming from
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hat! I bought this hat and 2 wide brim visors. I love them all. I am out in the sun quite a bit and they were fabulous for keeping the sun off my face and keeping me cool.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage Because you can bend the whole bridge, you get great coverage for your neck.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and casual My sister spoke of the very hot summer in FL, and how sweat would run into her eyes when outside even for a few minutes. This hat solved the problem while keeping her protected from the sun and her head cool.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hat Lightweight keeps my face. Shielded from sun. When I don't need it hangs off my neck. Love it
Date published: 2016-08-16
  • y_2020, m_6, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_110
  • loc_en_US, sid_02354, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coolibar
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT